9. Future Destinations: Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada

Valley of the Ten Peaks and Moraine Lake. Yes, Harry: the Rocky Mountains really are that rocky.

Two weeks ago, I wrote about wanting to see the Southern Andes in Chile. Last week, we took a mental and spiritual retreat to Castel Gandolfo in Italy, because it was relevant to the news of the Pope’s resignation. However, I had meant to continue talking of trips to mountainous places, so this week we’re back on the trail!

A Park of Firsts

Banff National Park is the crown jewel of a collection of National Park sites in the Canadian Rockies, straddling the Country’s section of the Continental Divide. Three other nearby parks and a distant fourth compose the rest of the crown: Jasper, the lesser-known northern sister park on the Alberta side; Yoho, the western next-door-neighbor on the British Columbia Side; Kootenay, the other British Columbia companion; and Waterton Lakes,  far to the south and a component of the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park.

Map featuring Banff and it’s neighboring parks. Not shown: Waterton Lakes.

Banff is important in Canadian history for being the first National Park, established in 1885 by Canada’s first Prime Minister, John A. Macdonald. Created to solve a dispute over, of all things, who discovered the hot springs there, the park now serves close to 4 million visitors every year, making it one of the most-visited park sites on the North American continent. Facilities are open year-round, and they are notably different from American National Parks in that they have a more distinctive European and Alpine architecture.

Despite the popularity of Banff and its sister parks, the Canadians seem to have mastered the balance between access to natural exhibitions and the conservation of resources and wildlife. This is perhaps best exemplified by the wildlife crossings that have been installed throughout the park, as seen below:

Don’t feed the animals. Just let them walk into the forest at their leisure.

Choice Selections

So, why do I want to go here instead of the American Rockies, which are much closer to me?

For one thing, I’ve never been to Canada, so I think taking the opportunity to visit Banff first strikes me as grandiose, wondrous, and essential to understanding the sights that Canada has to offer.

Secondly, I was once considered as an invitee for a train trip from Toronto to Vancouver, highlighting the Canadian Rockies, along with my Aunt and Uncle in Kentucky. Alas, the invite never fully materialized, but the trip is still worth dreaming about, even though it would have taken me through the mountains rather quickly.

My other major motivation for going here would be to see what the differences are between American and Canadian approaches to tourism in a natural setting. I’m curious as to whether the different cultures influence the views and actions of visitors, as well as policies set by the authorities in the park. It’s an odd and more cerebral thought process to take with oneself on a vacation, I know. But since I do have a degree in Geography that includes two favorite courses titled “The Geography of Tourism” and “Parks and Protected Areas”, I can’t help but think about these things!

But enough about ulterior motives. What about the actual features of the park? What do I want to see and do there?

Oddly enough, I’d like to try my hand at skiing inside the park, if I don’t know how to already. I’ve never heard of a National Park in America in which one could ski or snowboard, so it would be worth the experience. At the very least, I could always go innertubing.

There are plenty of “lovely lakes”, to quote the funny translator from “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” ‘s opening credits: Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, and Peyto Lake are the signature ones of the collection. Glaciers and forests abound, with plenty of large game wildlife and vast stands of pine, spruce, and Douglas Fir trees. The roads are well-paved and the villages inside the park have cafes and boutiques nestled into well-established buildings.

I could see myself reading up on Canadian history and wildlife inside the parks while sipping on a frappuccino (I dislike hot beverages) outside one of these cafes, or people-watching as I ambled along the streets. During the late morning and early afternoon hours of the day, I would be out shooting off hundreds of photos at every outlook and pullout I could manage to drive or hike to. And in the evening, a well-deserved rest and photo review in front of a private or common-space fireplace seems most idyllic.

I daresay this might be what it would feel like to visit the European Alps, minus the fresh dairy products and singing nuns. And I would imagine it’s also cheaper to get to from Southern California.

Breadcrumbs

As mentioned earlier, there are at least 3 other national parks in the immediate vicinity of Banff that I could also visit. Out of those three, I think Jasper would be a natural second destination on a hypothetical trip to the Canadian Rockies, to see the Caribou and venture further north into the range.

As for major cities, an excursion down out of the mountains onto the Canadian Plains would definitely be lacking if I did not include a segment to see Edmonton (which features North America’s largest mall) or Calgary, with a couple of hockey games thrown in for good measure.

Final Words

Looks like I don’t have to fly halfway around the world for a Swiss (-ish) alpine experience after all! I’ll just trek north into Canada instead!

Leave a comment